Policy groups start their work

Policy groups start their work

Policy Groups were established at the Baltic Institute of Corporate Governance (BICG), to support the development of good corporate governance in the Baltics by proposing initiatives, guidelines and recommendations as well as by being highly reactive to any proposals made by other parties in the field of corporate governance and company law.

Comprised of the members of the BICG who are experienced directors, managers, legal experts and corporate governance specialists, the Policy groups will be working closely with the management and reporting to the Board of the BICG.

“While the BICG has always been leading the way in advocating for good corporate governance across the Baltics, having Policy groups will help the Institute to make sure that we are as strong as possible”, says Rytis Ambrazevičius, President of the BICG.

In Lithuania, the Policy group was joined by Agnė Jonaitytė of Primus Derling, Gediminas Varnas of Nasdaq Vilnius, Ina Muckienė of PWC Legal Lithuania, Povilas Žukauskas of Walless, Renata Damanskytė-Rekašienė of EPSO-G Group, Simona Grinevičienė of Ignitis Group and Viktorija Trimbel of Quantum Capital.

In Latvia, the appointed members are Andris Lauciņš of Ernst & Young Baltics, Esmeralda Balode-Buraka of Latvijas Gāze, Gatis Flinters of COBALT Latvia, Gundars Bērziņš of Olainfarm, Jānis Vanags of Maxima Latvija, Juta Kaktiniece of SEB banka, Mārtiņš Bičevskis of Association of Technology and Startup Transfer, Rinalds Sluckis of Digital Mind, Uldis Biķis of Latvijas Finieris and Zane Kotāne of Olainfarm.

In Estonia, a Policy Group is set to be created in the future, as the member community continues to grow.

Appointed by the Board at the end of October, Policy Groups in Latvia in Lithuania have now held their first meetings and are working on their agenda for the upcoming year(s).

Ms Trimbel, one of the most experienced independent Board members in Lithuania, and Mr Biķis, an experienced Chair and formerly a Board member of the BICG, have been elected as Chairs of the groups by their members, in their respective countries.

Tenure of all Policy group members is three years, tenure of the Chair of a group is one year.

Appointed after an open call for applications, all members volunteer their time and expertise, and are engaged on a pro bono basis.